Home > Kahindik-hindik, Philippine Marketing > globe telecom’s loyalty and rewards program that creates disloyalty

globe telecom’s loyalty and rewards program that creates disloyalty

marketing 101 says loyalty and rewards programs are very effective tools in keeping subscribers happy with your service and more importantly to stay loyal. that means loyalty and rewards programs are meant to prevent existing subscribers from cutting off their subscription with the company and switch to a competitor.

it is also much more cost effective to keep customers loyal than to look for new subscribers. marketing and acquisition costs for new customers is much higher and much more difficult for companies.

what makes all of these critical is that the mobile phone service industry is probably the most competitive mass consumer market  in the country.  we know this with the unending and heavy advertising and promotions launched by the top three competing companies – sun, globe and smart.

the three competing companies offer unique plans and a full range of options for the consumers to choose from. many of these are value packed, offering very low cash outlay and monthly fees. when the market already competes on price, you know that the market is reaching maturity and is already near saturation point.

the market is also reaching near-saturation point where a large part of the demographics, in practically all segments already own a cell phone and already subscribe to a mobile service provider.

what this tells you is that a mobile phone service provider’s way to market share and revenue growth is to (1st) keep your current customers loyal; (2nd) increase usage of loyal customers through more value added services and (3rd) gain new users.

what is the point then that globe has kept it’s loyalty and rewards program secret from it’s subscribers?

we have been getting some feedback from a yahoogroup we are a member of.  members are saying the loyalty/rewards program of globe has been there for a long time, it’s just that they don’t tell their subscribers about it. you only get to know about it by accident – from friends or when you call their hotline number and accidentally ask about it.

apparently, smart is less secretive about their loyalty/rewards program. smart puts it in fine print on your cell phone bill to let you know about it. it is in fine print but at least you are told about it. globe does not put it anywhere in your bill and  they don’t tell you about it when you call them. you get to know about it only when you ask them about it.

for me, keeping the loyalty/rewards program a secret from subscribers indicates insincerity. why would you develop a rewards/loyalty program when you don’t intend to let your customers know about it? keeping it a secret from subscribers is very much equivalent to not having one.

we are familiar with rewards/loyalty programs  – the SM group has one, mercury drugstore and national bookstore as well. these stores publicize it with posters and their cashiers ask you if you have one. if you don’t , they will ask you if you want to get one. to these stores, it’s not a secret they actively recruit members to it.

the most obvious negative effect of keeping it a secret from subscribers is that the program is not being used as a tool the way it is intended to be used. not having a lot of subscribers using it also says the program is not achieving it’s objectives.

there is a feedback given in the yahoogroup we are a member of  –  this subscriber has been with globe for a long time, since year 1 of globe operations in 1996. she accidentally found out about globe’s loyalty/reward program from a friend. she calls the hotline number  to inquire about it and globe did not even apologize for not letting her know about its existence. disappointed, she closed her globe account and switched to smart. since she moved over to smart, she has gotten 2 new cell phones as her reward and is very happy with smart.

in that incident, the loyalty/reward program that was kept a secret actually caused disloyalty from a subscriber. it achieved the exact opposite of what it is supposed to achieve.

we know that smart telecoms monitors their churn numbers on a daily basis. churn is the result of subtracting the number of subscribers dropping the service versus the number of new subscribers joining the service.  having a positive churn means the total number of subscribers is increasing while a negative churn means the number of subscribers is shrinking. a positive churn means increasing market share of number of users while a negative churn is a decrease in market share.

to smart telecoms, it’s important that they continue to grow in market share. a negative churn turns them into a panic and will immediately launch new programs to entice new users or keep existing ones.

that is the kind of marketing that smart does and it shows as smart continue to be the dominant mobile service provider in the country.

smart has an interesting history. smart actually built their market through very aggressive marketing.

smart was not the market leader when they started in the market. piltel which was still owned by pldt and separate from smart was the market leader. globe entered the market and took leadership away from piltel. through aggressive marketing, smart over took both piltel and globe and since that time, smart has not only sustained it’s leadership, it has achieved dominance.

in case globe is wondering why they are unable to get switchers from smart subscribers, perhaps the answer can be deduced from this incident – smart does not keep their loyalty/rewards program secret from their subscribers, they tell them about it. smart users  are loyal subscribers because they are hooked by their loyalty/rewards program.

on the other side, in case globe is wondering why  they keep losing their post-paid clients to smart – it is probably because they have kept their loyalty/rewards program a secret from their subscribers.

  1. PV Ferrer
    April 22, 2010 at 8:49 am

    I have both Smart and Globe post-paid lines. Neither has offered a loyalty reward nor any replacement cellphones. The SMART lines have been with us since 2004 and SMART has not provided any new phones for our lines since then. To make things worse, their Corporate Business Group (CBG) has never replaced the departed account manager assigned to serve our account since 2007. We’ve just gotten tired of trying to demand service from SMART for our corporate lines. We will terminate these lines as soon as they are no longer needed.

    With Globe, it is the same thing. The account manager assigned to our account has moved on and we don’t hear of any initiatives from Globe to keep our account.

  2. Anna
    June 21, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    i am a globe subscriber since 2004, plan 800. there are no guidelines regarding who should get rewards, when to get rewards and how to get rewards/how to qualify for rewards. and most important what are the rewards. i have experience calling the globe customer service asking for the available rewards or asking them what are the rewards i could claim?, which i juz learned from a friend, sad to say it took me about two months asking them, but they could not give me any, due to my dismay, i changed my plan from 800 to 500… and finally they gave me a 200php+ bill rebate… i accept it than nothing!…but now, they already have advertisement regarding their rewards…i hope its working!

    • June 22, 2010 at 9:41 pm

      they will not tell you about it. it’s almost like a secret. you get to know about it through others if you’re lucky enough to know someone who has had one.

  3. Tess
    August 5, 2010 at 11:18 am

    Weeks ago, I negotiated with Globe for the conversion of points of my two globe lines into a loyalty package of Iphone. I was approved of an I phone unit with the conversion of my 2 globelines loyalty point plus a cash out of P3,700. I was told by the one who called me to proceed to the megamall store on July 29 for the pick up of the handset. I was given two reference nos.chu 10070003314 and chu10070003315. I went to megamall and was told that the unit was not there yet and they will just call me. I also asked for their cell no. I had been calling but no one responded. July 31, I went back and was told again that the unit was not yet there. They said they will give me feedback. All I received was a text message from Jeng in the afternoon telling me that they cannot contact loyalty department to follow up and again was told that they will just call me. Monday, i had been calling the whole day and no one answered. I texted several time and no one replied. Again, all i got is a text message that night apologising for the situation and told me again that they will just call me if the unit is there. I gave up talking to them so I called Monday night (August 2) and was able to talk to a customer service representative where I ventilated all my frustrations with the way my request is being handled and the person I talked with committed to be on top of it and promised that he will give me feedback within 24 hours. I am not even demanding for my unit, I am just asking for a feedback as to a concrete date of delivery. The following day, Tuesday ( August 3) , I also emailed for my complaint and i got an auto reply saying my request will be handled. Of course, that night I was waiting for the one who told me he will give me feedback in 24 hours, but again he did not. . I just hope this time you will sincerely help me. From my experience with Globe’s frontliners, I will say they are generally rendering poor service. It’s as if Im talking to a robot or worst, a blank wall. Honestly, my worst encounter so far.

    Tess Bucayan

    • Joko
      June 20, 2011 at 3:38 pm

      I agree with you 100%!! Globe has the WORST customer service reps! Wrong grammar, bad explanation — it’s like they are NOT trained at all!

      • June 30, 2011 at 12:57 pm

        They do not even speak in English anymore!

  4. August 6, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    Tess :

    Weeks ago, I negotiated with Globe for the conversion of points of my two globe lines into a loyalty package of Iphone. I was approved of an I phone unit with the conversion of my 2 globelines loyalty point plus a cash out of P3,700. I was told by the one who called me to proceed to the megamall store on July 29 for the pick up of the handset. I was given two reference nos.chu 10070003314 and chu10070003315. I went to megamall and was told that the unit was not there yet and they will just call me. I also asked for their cell no. I had been calling but no one responded. July 31, I went back and was told again that the unit was not yet there. They said they will give me feedback. All I received was a text message from Jeng in the afternoon telling me that they cannot contact loyalty department to follow up and again was told that they will just call me. Monday, i had been calling the whole day and no one answered. I texted several time and no one replied. Again, all i got is a text message that night apologising for the situation and told me again that they will just call me if the unit is there. I gave up talking to them so I called Monday night (August 2) and was able to talk to a customer service representative where I ventilated all my frustrations with the way my request is being handled and the person I talked with committed to be on top of it and promised that he will give me feedback within 24 hours. I am not even demanding for my unit, I am just asking for a feedback as to a concrete date of delivery. The following day, Tuesday ( August 3) , I also emailed for my complaint and i got an auto reply saying my request will be handled. Of course, that night I was waiting for the one who told me he will give me feedback in 24 hours, but again he did not. . I just hope this time you will sincerely help me. From my experience with Globe’s frontliners, I will say they are generally rendering poor service. It’s as if Im talking to a robot or worst, a blank wall. Honestly, my worst encounter so far.

    Tess Bucayan

    your experience is typical of globe customer service- inefficient and full of promises they do not keep. they tend to tell you they will call you back but they never do.

    i would suggest you call the loyalty group/department directly. call them through the globe trunkline and not through the customer service hotline. ask or a supervisor or a manager, not a clerk or assistant. it’s really very difficult to get good service from globe.

  5. Cris
    November 9, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    Globe is always inefficient in handling customer problems.

  6. irish
    January 3, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    I absolutly agree Globe sucks and inefficient. I wonder why they are not improving their service. Loyalty department should be abolish they are no use to the costumer. I encourage people to switch to Smart instead they give you a better service you can check the survey.

  7. March 4, 2011 at 2:21 am

    Conspiracy theory namin ng friend ko na postpaid sub ren. Hindi na tumatawag yung mga taga rewards department para ma-forfeit natin yung rewards. Tipid sa part ng Globe kasi di sila maglalabas ng budget to cover the 24 months na rebate or lump sum to buy a new unit. Ever since ay ako na lang tumatawag para sa loyalty reward at nagsimula lang yun sa curiosity kasi may mga dati akong officemate na nakakuha ng free phone eh inisip ko naman na sinong loko-lokong company na willing magbigay ng free phone.

    Eto yata naalala ko sa mga offer nila…

    1st and 2nd renewal
    a. GCash credits
    b. Free/Discounted phone (pero tawagan nila ako para masabihan kung ano ang available)
    c. Bill Rebate

    3rd renewal
    a. Free/Discounted phone (pero tawagan nila ako para masabihan kung ano ang available)
    b. Bill Rebate

    4th renewal
    a. Free/Discounted phone (pero tawagan nila ako para masabihan kung ano ang available)
    b. Bill Rebate
    c. 6 or 12mos subscription to some plan na nawala ren

  8. gerald l. intes
    March 8, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    ive been a globe subscriber for the past decades,…. the last free phone i received was nokia n73…. the said unit was already not working efficiently….. i want to avail of new free phone….

    • March 9, 2011 at 11:52 am

      you are entitled to get 1 free reward every 2 years. what kind of reward it is changes every time you call them.

    • March 9, 2011 at 11:55 am

      that is correct they do not call you or make any effort to let you know. they are really not serious about giving their subscribers the rewards.

  9. Chris Cruz
    July 20, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    gLOBE HAS BEEN ADVERTISING HEAVILY BUT the Samsung Champ which comes with their P599 loyalty is out of stock. This has quite inconvenient for a loyalty subscriber who needs to wait and call Globe hotline to check its availability. Besides, the hotline is also difficult to call.

  10. Al
    December 4, 2011 at 2:25 am

    Smart is definitely better as far as giving free phones to loyal customers (after every 2 years of contract). I used to be a Globe subscriber but shifted to Smart when they didn’t give me my free phone after my contract with them expired. Every time I would call their hotline to inquire about it, they kept on changing the “rules” for availing of a free phone. That was the last straw, I shifted to Smart and I’m very glad I did. A month before your contract expires with Smart (if you pay your monthly bills diligently), they’ll tell you that you’re already qualified to avail of a new phone. As for Sun, they don’t offer rebates. They’ll give you a free phone ones you renew your contract.

    I’m a happy Smart & Sun subscriber. :-)

  11. alen
    December 31, 2011 at 2:02 am

    i’m having problems availing Globe’s loyalty program. April 2009 they insist that the only available unit is Iphone 3gs and i need to a 21,300 cash-out. I told them that I already have an Iphone and I asked for other phone units available with no cash-out and they told me all units are out-of-stock. I emailed them several times, until I opted for the rebates and decided to downgrade my plan from Business Plan 1,200 to 800, I was surprised they asked me to pay a one-month advance for the downgrade. So it’s April 2011, I inquired for loyalty program, and I was informed that my contract/plan will expire on October 2011… another surprise is that when my contract expired and checked my bill, my plan rolled-back to Plan 1,200 again? is there a glitch in their computer?

    Now i applied for Iphone 4s for my loyalty, I emailed Globe 6 times, twitted, and called their hotline 3X they kept on saying they will put my concern on top priority and that I must wait 3-5days when it’s been 1month that I’ve been trying to communicate with them. I received an auto-generated reply stating that Iphone 4s is already available in their business centers and that I can visit to renew my plan/contract. I visited their store and I was told that I must call 211 first because they cannot reserve the phone. When with Smart & Suncellular, they send letters and brochures upon expiration of your contract, and you can visit their store for the processing of the loyalty program, if your phone of choice is not available, they will request for the unit and call you if its already available.

  12. cang
    December 31, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    i thought i could get my loyalty reward this feb but aftr reading all the comments i dont know and im so disapointed……..

    • January 2, 2012 at 10:25 am

      getting rewards due you is not easy with globe. they make it so difficult and so tedious that you will feel its all designed for you NOT to get your rewards. it will take a lot of patience and countless follow-up.

  13. January 2, 2012 at 10:31 am

    i would suggest that everyone who deals with globe customer service to write down the details of the calls you make to their customer service. write them down in a notebook. get the names of the agents you talk tom their ID number and jot down the date and time the call is made.

  14. January 2, 2012 at 10:44 am

    alen :

    i’m having problems availing Globe’s loyalty program. April 2009 they insist that the only available unit is Iphone 3gs and i need to a 21,300 cash-out. I told them that I already have an Iphone and I asked for other phone units available with no cash-out and they told me all units are out-of-stock. I emailed them several times, until I opted for the rebates and decided to downgrade my plan from Business Plan 1,200 to 800, I was surprised they asked me to pay a one-month advance for the downgrade. So it’s April 2011, I inquired for loyalty program, and I was informed that my contract/plan will expire on October 2011… another surprise is that when my contract expired and checked my bill, my plan rolled-back to Plan 1,200 again? is there a glitch in their computer?

    Now i applied for Iphone 4s for my loyalty, I emailed Globe 6 times, twitted, and called their hotline 3X they kept on saying they will put my concern on top priority and that I must wait 3-5days when it’s been 1month that I’ve been trying to communicate with them. I received an auto-generated reply stating that Iphone 4s is already available in their business centers and that I can visit to renew my plan/contract. I visited their store and I was told that I must call 211 first because they cannot reserve the phone. When with Smart & Suncellular, they send letters and brochures upon expiration of your contract, and you can visit their store for the processing of the loyalty program, if your phone of choice is not available, they will request for the unit and call you if its already available.

    your experience is prime example of globe not really wanting to give you the rewards you deserve. you must be patient and persistent.

    • alen
      January 13, 2012 at 3:00 am

      you’re right wawam, they promised to deliver the iphone 4s last january 6 but no delivery took place until now. i called and was told that the unit is stil not available so i told the CSR how come the phone is available to new subscribers? the CSR answered, “magkaiba po k’se ‘yun.” how come? and the cash-out for loyalty & new subscribers are the same so the loyalty program does not exist anymore for globe. i asked for a downgrade, she said it’s not possible since i availed the iphone 4s, i told her i haven’t signed anything, so technically i haven’t renewed my contract, and she said she will process the downgrade, i told her i will pay the 28,099 cash-out instead and change the unit to black, she said i can no longer avail the iphone 4s and uttered, “pinagbigyan na nga kayo” huh?! as a customer we have the right to choose since we’re paying their services, why say “pinagbigyan?” it literally gave me a headache!

      • January 26, 2012 at 10:01 am

        my experience with globe customer service is that it’s useless talking to their front liners. you need to talk to the supervisors or managers. in fact in my case i talked to their managers in the head office.

        over-all globe customer service is really very bad.

  15. Christian
    January 25, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    They are just fooling their customers. I asked them for a new fone, and they told me that they are basing now on the plan of the subscriber and not on their usage. How ridiculous this is, while I’m on a plan 499, may bill is usually above 1,500 and at times it goes as high as three thousand plus. I use to have a plan 1,800. But two years ago I downgraded my plan because they cannot offer me the phone that I wish to avail after staying with them for more than ten years. The sad thing is the cellular business is own now by two giant companies which give them all the chance to manipulate everything. How sad. This is a pathetic situation in a pathetic country. poor poor Filipinos!!! Globe sucks!!! Sorry for saying that…

    • January 26, 2012 at 9:59 am

      i don;t think globe is serious about their rewards program. i get the feeling it is just for show, lip service just to be able to say they have one. the way it is structured and the way they do it, it really discourages loyalty to the brand.

  16. chie
    March 8, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    ugh! this is so true. i have been a globe postpaid subscriber for more or less 10 yrs already. it was only recently when i got to know the loyalty reward program. i hate it, i might consider switching to smart.

    • March 12, 2012 at 10:02 am

      with smart buying sun, globe can be in real big trouble if it does not improve and deliver on its rewards program. this is supposed to help globe retain customers but the way they are doing it, this lip service is turning off subscribers instead.

  17. Agnes
    June 17, 2012 at 4:26 pm

    Globe telecom’s loyalty cellphone scam
    I am a victim of this, they are forcing me to pay for the loyalty phone that i never saw because they insist that i availed it thru someone i really dont know and very far from my billing address. I ask them the documents they required to the person whom they gave the phone and why they did not even call me to confirm if i am really getting it , their almost always amswer is that the case is under investigation , get tired and disgusted for the same reason whenever i make follow up, sadly doing it for 3 months from now.The start of my 2 years contract for postpaid plan for 1599 was march 2010 up to 2012,how come they gave the loyalty phone to someone last march 2011, is this possible?so hopeless that up to now they do not want to terminate my contract because they extended it because of the availment of loyalty phone, they agree that theyll terminate my contract if i am going to pay for the loyalty phone and termination fee, sadly until now my monthly bill is keep on coming..

  18. Arnold
    August 26, 2012 at 10:22 pm

    are globe prepaid subscribers also entitled to loyalty rewards?

  19. August 27, 2012 at 8:45 pm

    Arnold :

    are globe prepaid subscribers also entitled to loyalty rewards?

    i don’t think so. but call globe customer service to confirm.

  20. maria cruz
    July 7, 2013 at 1:22 pm

    I’ve been a loyal subscriber of globe since 2003 of plan 1799..true that globe’s loyalty rewards remain a secret to their loyal subscribers unless u inquire about it..even their customer service hotline does not serve it’s purpose..u have to follow up a couple of times for u to be attended on your inquiries..felt like being the only one neglected..but after going all through your comments, we’re just all sailing on the same boat..hope these concerns of their loyal subscribers reaches the ears of the globe people!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,067 other followers

