Home > Amiel Alcantara > prayers for Amiel Alcantara, grade 4 student, ateneo de manila grade school. died in a vehicular accident inside campus.

prayers for Amiel Alcantara, grade 4 student, ateneo de manila grade school. died in a vehicular accident inside campus.

amiel alcantara is a grade 4 student at the ateneo de manila grade school. he died after a vehicular accident in campus.

we would like to ask readers for prayers for amiel.

 

Van kills 10-year-old boy inside Ateneo campus

MANILA, Philippines – A 10-year-old boy died Tuesday afternoon after a van accidentally hit him inside the Ateneo de Manila University campus in Quezon city, police said.

In a phone interview, Senior Police Officer II Jun Cuaresma identified the victim as Julian Carlo Miguel Alcantara, a student of the university.

Cuaresma said the victim was walking alongside his nanny, Tata Suarez, 65, when the van driven by one Ma. Theresa Torres, 37, accidentally struck them at about 4:20 p.m.

Cuaresma said based on Torres’ initial accounts, she accidentally hit Alcantara when she followed the car parked in front of her. She reportedly said she was waiting for her child and was parked in parallel near the main gate of the university.

Alcantara was pronounced dead on arrival at New Era Hospital while his nanny sustained several fractures.

Cuaresma said a ‘hysterical’ Torres was brought to the District Traffic Unit Section 3 after the incident. The Alcantaras, meanwhile, declined to give their comments. – Aie Balagtas See, GMANews.TV

  1. addieaddie
    February 25, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    this affects me greatly as i drive and pick up my son exactly at the area where the accident happened. i just want to ask, is it true that the mom driver had a baby on her lap and was just learning how to drive?

  2. February 25, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    people i have talked to who saw the incident did not mention a baby on her lap. we also do not know if she was just learning how to drive. what eye witnesses said was she was texting, her cell fell, she stooped down to get it, her foot must have been removed on the brakes and to recover, she quickly stepped on a pedal. but her foot hit the accelerator rather than the brakes.

  3. February 26, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    first of all..our deepest condolences to Alcantara Family. my family offered mass card & prayers. Im so devastated on this Unbelievable accident. My grade 7 & gr 4 sons came home that afternoon, sadness in their eyes & even thought of not telling me BUT as a mom i sensed that there is something that my son wanna tell me.He just keep on moving his head, mumble words ( how could one parent be so irresponsible!)..after telling me that sad news.Tears just rolled down. I prayed & cry that Amiel should survived..But after i learned that God didnt want Amiel to suffer more & brought him up to heaven ..I went to tell my children & we all cry & say prayers. I got mad, prejudged & again & again questions keep running in my mind. Is that parent with a driver license? if she has..does she really know how to drive? Did she ever drive that particular vehicle? Is she talking in a cellfone? or was she avoiding the security who is requesting her to go forward as many cars are queuing too thats why she went to sit pretending to be the driver..etc.., OMG! That zone is even the safest zone where children are being fetched.. Im all goosebumps because it can happen hitting other kids. My gr,7 & Gr4 would also be crossing that lane at that moment..I dnt want to think it was that so close too. My gr.4 called me up at 420 asking wherabouts of my driver, while my driver was in the parking area fronting irwin theater. when i texd my driver to meet my gr 4 at the waiting place…that accident probably just happened.. thats why my gr 7 saw how the boy’sbody was pinned down & how people around hurriedly got the boy out & rush to the other vehicle offered by someone to be brought to the nearest hospital. my driver described how bad it hit the boy.. I got so scared,speechless,teary to the extend i didnt inform my husband that night..My son & I were anxious too & had difficulties sleeping that night beacuse that incident shuld never happened if drivers are responsible. all we have to do now is to pray harder for God ‘s protection.

  4. len
    February 26, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    i pity the alcantara family but my heart also aches for the torres kids. i pray that God takes over the situation. there is too much pain even amongst us onlookers. o Lord Jesus, please be in the midst of the alcantara and torres families. help us to understand the wisdom in this senseless death. o legions of angels of God take away the gnawing pain that lingers among ateneo students, parents and community. we implore your healing peace o God.Amen

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

