Home > Amiel Alcantara > A PEDESTRIAN LANE… THANKS TO AMIEL!

A PEDESTRIAN LANE… THANKS TO AMIEL!

rey canlas is not an ateneo dad nor is he an atenan. he is a lourdes school mandaluyong (LSM) dad and from UP and he posted in this blog when he read about amiel alcantara’s tragic death. 

like many dads, moms and individuals, he was touched by amiel’s death. having a young son at LSM, he championed safety improvements at the shcool of his son. LSM school authorities responded positively. (read this here :
https://wawam.wordpress.com/2009/03/01/something-good-has-come-up-from-amiels-tragic-death/)

now, here is an update on what has happened at LSM. go to his blog and let’s post there and celebrate this good thing that has come out of amiel’s tragic death :
http://ryanericsongcanlas.wordpress.com/2009/03/31/thanks-to-amiel/

A PEDESTRIAN LANE… THANKS TO AMIEL!

I arrived almost past 9PM and as I entered the building, I saw newly made PEDESTRIAN LANE just in front of Lourdes School of Mandaluyong facing our residential building. It was still half-done but it made me feel happy. I got my phone and I took a photo of it. As I climbed the stairs to the lobby, I remembered AMIEL ALCANTARA, the 10-year old student who passed away almost a month ago at Ateneo Grade School.

I greeted the security guard whose name tag has the name, ALCANTARA. I then talked to him about the new PEDESTRIAN LANE and how important it is not just to the kids at our residential building studying at LSM but for all others who goes to the church and those who goes to work in nearby buildings who needed to cross the street with care.

Then, I thought of referring to his name tag and relating the discussion to AMIEL ALCANTARA and how instrumental he was for all the various safety enhancements and initiatives now being adopted by schools nut just elementary but also high schools and colleges. Manong Guard agreed. He heard about it and he was thankful as well.

It has been almost a month since the incident that claimed the life of this young boy took place but the lesson learned and the good things that this has brought to the society will always remain. I know that somehow, whenever I get to see the PEDESTRIAN LANE at Lourdes School of Mandaluyong, I will always remember the young boy that was AMIEL ALCANTARA.

Thank you. 

  1. Enrico L. de Guzman
    April 4, 2009 at 11:55 am

    I’m glad Mr. Canlas, whom I haven’t met personally ( or perhaps we have see each other but are not yet familiar with each one), have seen the results of my appeal to Ortigas Center Association. Actually, there are two pedestrian lanes to be painted ALONG St. Francis Street; one is between Gate 4 of Lourdes School of Mandaluyong and Cityland while the other one is between LSM Gate 5(Canteen gate) and the big St. Francis Condominium being constructed. A few days back, those people to paint these pedestrian lanes came to my office to consult me on the best area of St. Francis Street where they should be painted.

    I just would like to inform everyone, with all humility, that since the time that LSM assigned me to head the office of Security Dept., I wasted no time to do the very tedious process of evaluating and assessing our safety and security management system. I’m just too happy that my administrators were very supportive of all my proposals most of which were carried out ( instillation of wet-stand pipe system which cost the school almost a million, and fire extinguishers in critical areas of our school, increase in the number of security guards, just to name a few.) Our school has an articulated safety and security program which serves as guide to all members of LSM family to assure their safety while inside the campus. Security and safety is always part of the orientation to parents, teachers and students at the beginning of every school year. Fire drills are conducted in compliance with the provision of the Fire Code , DepEd and Malacanang orders. At the administration lobby, we posted the certificate issued by the MANDALUYONG BUREAU OF FIRE PROTECTION for satisfactory compliance to all building safety requrements of the Fire Code of the Philippines after their inspection of LSM..

    As to the issue of the pedestrian lanes, a few weeks before that unfortunate incident in Ateneo, LSM, thru my request, personally painted the pedestrian lane between our gate 10 and Jolli Bee Center in San Miguel Street, without waiting for the action of Ortigas Center. The Two pedetrian lanes in St. Francis Street are the fulfillment of their promise to me even before the unfortunate incident on Amiel (napabilis siguro dahil dun sa nangyari, thanks to Amiel). Many were telling me, it seems the street no longer falls on my responsibility. But I say, my responsibility or not, I’m embracing my moral obligation to our students to follow them and ensure their safety even they are already out of the school. I’m happy to see that even other people not connected to LSM are benefitting from all my actions.

    Salamat po dun sa nagbigay ng papuri sa mga safety measures that we have been implementing like the separation of the area for school buses and the strict implementation of the 5KPH limit. Rest assured that our department never stop in thinking of what other actions we can take to enhance more our security management system. Sana nga lang po ay sumunod ang lahat without making excuses to violate our policies on safety and security.

    There are so many things I wish to tell, but I guess these are sufficient enough to tell everyone how we care for our students and those entering our campus. In the first place “SAFETY AND SECURITY OF ALL SCHOOL CAMPUSES IS MY PERSONAL ADVOCACY!” We don’t need another death just to show how much we care. All we need is to discipline ourselves and assure everyone that we enter the school campus with much respect to the institution, to its people and to all its policies. GOD BLESS US ALL

    ENRICO L. DE GUZMAN, CCSM
    Chief Security Officer
    LOURDES SCHOOL OF MANDALUYONG

    • April 4, 2009 at 4:03 pm

      we salute your efforts. and kudos to LSM. we hope more parents and more school authorities will take the initiative and improve safety in schools.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

